Kansas Auto Insurance Laws
All drivers should familiarize themselves with these Kansas auto insurance laws:
Kansas is a no-debt auto insurance state
Kansas is a debt-free auto insurance state. This means that in the event of a multi-car accident with injuries, each driver will bill their own insurance company. This is different from fault states, where the driver found guilty of the accident pays the medical bills for all parties involved.
Consequences for Driving Without Insurance in Kansas
Driving without car insurance in Kansas can lead to:
- Fines between $300 and $1,000 for a first violation and between $800 and $2,500 for a subsequent violation within three years
- Up to six months in prison
- Driver’s license suspension
- Suspension of vehicle registration
Kansas Minimum Coverage Requirements
Kansas drivers must have at least the following coverage:
Personal Injury Liability Cover
Drivers must have at least:
- $25,000 in personal injury liability coverage per person
- $50,000 in Accident Personal Injury Liability Coverage
Liability Coverage for Property Damage
Drivers must also carry at least $25,000 in property liability coverage.
Uninsured and underinsured coverage for motorists
Drivers require coverage for uninsured and underinsured motorists in the same amounts as the personal injury liability coverage listed above. Cover for uninsured motorists applies if a policyholder is hit by an uninsured driver. Underinsured motorist coverage helps the policyholder pay the rest of the damage if they are hit by a driver without sufficient insurance to pay for everything.
Personal Injury (PIP)
Kansas drivers are required to carry personal injury protection (PIP). The legally required minimum amount is:
- $4,500 per person for medical expenses
- $900 per month for a year for disability/loss of income
- $25 per day for home services
- $2,000 for funeral, burial, or cremation expenses
- $4,500 for rehabilitation costs
How to Get Cheap Car Insurance in Kansas
Drivers looking for the cheapest car insurance in Kansas should try the following:
- Compare rates from multiple companies: Each insurer assesses the risk differently, which is why they all give different quotes. Drivers should compare the rates of different companies before choosing one company.
- View all available discounts: Most insurers automatically apply discounts to an applicant’s premiums, but there are some discounts that drivers must opt for. For example, driver monitoring programs usually require the consent of the policyholder. It is worth considering for those who want to be rewarded for good driving habits.
- Choose a higher deductible: Deductibles are the cash costs that a policyholder pays in the event of an accident. If you choose a higher one, you usually lower the premium.
Other things to consider when looking for car insurance in Kansas
Here are a few other things to keep in mind when shopping for car insurance in Kansas:
State minimum coverage may not be enough
Cheap car insurance can be attractive, but can also lead to major financial problems in the event of an accident. If the damage exceeds the limits of their policy, the driver will have to pay the rest out of their own pocket. This can easily cost thousands or even tens of thousands of dollars. That’s why it’s often better to buy more than the state’s minimum coverage whenever possible.
The minimum state coverage does not include protection for the policyholder’s vehicle
Those who want help paying for the repair of their own vehicle after an accident should add a collision and comprehensive coverage. Collision coverage applies when a driver is involved in an accident with another vehicle. Comprehensive coverage covers damage related to an animal/vehicle collision, inclement weather, theft, vandalism and more.